Tuesday, May 7, 2013

Envisioning the Role of Librarians in Massive Online Open Courses

 
Live Webcast  / May 22, 2013
11 a.m. Pacific | 12:00 p.m. Mountain | 1:00 p.m. Central | 2:00 p.m. Eastern
90 minutes

Description: Technology is enabling Higher Education to change more in the next ten years than it has in the past hundred. Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs) are potentially one such technological innovation and have generated a lot of press in the past year. This live, interactive webcast will focus on the role of the librarian in these online courses. First, we will examine what librarians are currently doing to provide support for these institutional course offerings. Next, we will discuss possible future roles that librarians can play as MOOCs move from the margins to the mainstream.

Learning Outcomes:

  • Learn about current library efforts to support MOOCs (e.g. copyright and licensing).
  • Learn about new strategic challenges that MOOCs present for libraries (e.g. scale and remote services for diverse course demographics).
  • Learn about new strategic opportunities that MOOCs present for libraries (e.g. information literacy instruction and Open Educational Resources (OERs).

Presenter: John D. Shank, Instructional Design Librarian, Associate Director of the Center for Learning and Teaching (CLT), Instructor in Communication Arts & Sciences, Penn State Berks
Co-founder of The Blended Librarian

Technical Requirements: ACRL Webcasts are held in an Elluminate virtual classroom. You will be prompted to download a java-based application (Elluminate) before being able to enter the classroom.  Elluminate works on both PC and Macintosh platforms.  The minimum PC requirements are a Pentium II 266 Mhz with 64MB of memory and a sound card. The minimum Mac requirements are a G3 233 Mhz with 64MB of memory when using OS 9.0 - 9.2 or 128MB of memory when using OS X.

Speakers or a headset for listening to the presentation are required. It is recommended that you also use a microphone to ask questions/make comments. If you do not have or do not wish to use a microphone, you may ask questions through text-based chat.

[snip]

Registration fees:
  • ACRL member: $50
  • ALA member: $75
  •  Nonmember: $90
  • Student: $40
  • Group*: $295
Source and Links To Registration Options Available At

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.